True Retro: Detailed Recreations of Old Portraits [Oh. That’s Good.]

Love these photos.  My costumer friend, Jana, sent this link to me because it reminded her of the “Dear Photograph” project I wrote about earlier this year! So awesome.  These features the work of Photographer Irina Werning.  These are photos she is doing for Zefrank’s “young me now me” project.


I especially appreciate Werning’s attention to detail on recreating the lighting and props to go “true retro” and reinhabit the old photograph for the modern subject. A hint of melancholy is unmistakable throughout.  Or maybe that’s just me.

Werning will be in India.  Here are the details below.  ENJOY!

WILL BE IN NEW DELHI, INDIA IN NOVEMBER WITH THE PROJECT. LOOKING FOR SUBJECTS THERE, PLEASE EMAIL ME YOUR PICS TO backtothefuturepics@gmail.com

(If you try this at home email it to zefrank’s wonderful young me now me project (2006) at http://www.zefrank.com/youngmenowme/)

What do you think?  How do you like these versus the Dear Photograph project?  What photo would YOU do if you tried to recreate something? Please comment below and let me know!

3 responses to “True Retro: Detailed Recreations of Old Portraits [Oh. That’s Good.]”

  1. Debbie @ Work Your Art says :

    I love how detailed these pictures are. It’s not just the location and the clothing they paid close attention to, but everything in the old picture seems to be reproduced with great care. I love it.

Whaddya think?! Leave a Reply. Do iiiittttt.

